Marc Marquez wins the inaugural Thai GP!

Marc Marquez came out on top of Andrea Dovizioso on the last lap in one of the races of the year!

Marc Marquez led the first two laps and amazingly, the first two laps and the last lap were the only laps Marquez led! Marquez passed Dovizioso into turn 5 but the Ducati was strong in the last sector and Dovi waited until the last corner for a lunge. However, the lunge was too late and Marquez made the switch to the line to take yet another win and extend his lead to 77 points! Marquez can now win his 5th world championship next time out in Japan.

Yamaha needed a result and it seemed that the pace was there in qualifying with Valentino Rossi narrowly missing out on pole position. Rossi passed Marquez for the lead on lap 3 and Dovizioso followed him through. Rossi lead for a few laps until Dovizioso and Marquez pulled the pin with 10 to go. Despite the front two pulling away, Maverick Vinales passed Rossi and stayed with Marquez and Rossi. If Dovi and Marquez collided in the last corner, then it would’ve been a Yamaha 1-2. Despite only getting 3rd and 4th, it was a much improved race from Yamaha.

The pace was very slow midway through the race with the leaders lapping 1 second slower than the anticipated race pace. All of this meant that at one point, there was 3 seconds separating the top 10!

Cal Crutchlow was near the front of this group in 4th but the Brit started dropping down the field with 8 to go as it seemed his tyres just faded too soon. The LCR man would finish in 7th. Dani Pedrosa was chopping through the field very well and was fighting with Vinales. Sadly, Pedrosa crashed at turn 5 with 8 laps to go and it will be a “what could’ve been” race for the retiring Spaniard.

Elsewhere, Johann Zarco scored his best result since Jerez with 5th and the departing Alvaro Bautista finished in 8th.

The Top 10:

  1. Marc Marquez- Repsol Honda
  2. Andrea Dovizioso- Ducati
  3. Maverick Vinales- Movistar Yamaha
  4. Valentino Rossi- Movistar Yamaha
  5. Johann Zarco- Tech 3 Yamaha
  6. Alex Rins- Suzuki Ecstar
  7. Cal Crutchlow- LCR Honda
  8. Alvaro Bautista- Angel Nieto Ducati
  9. Danilo Petrucci- Alma Pramac Ducati
  10. Jack Miller- Alma Pramac Ducati



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: