Marc Marquez wins once again at Sachsenring

Marc Marquez continued his unbeaten winning streak at Germany fighting off Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo.

Lorenzo led from the start thanks to the grunt of his Ducati with Marquez down to 3rd after Petrucci sneaked into 2nd. However 4 laps in, Marquez decided to pull the pin by passing Danilo Petrucci into turn 1 and then with 17 laps to go, Marquez passed Jorge Lorenzo for the lead.

Valentino Rossi slotted into 4th at the start and the Italian looked racy and he showed it by passing Petrucci into turn 1 and then passed Jorge Lorenzo at the halfway mark thanks to a mistake from Lorenzo at turn 10. Rossi then set off for Marc Marquez and at one point, Rossi was 0.6 seconds away from the Honda man. Marquez then responded by 3 consecutive fastest laps and then cruised to the finish to take his 9th win in a row in Germany! Rossi would finish in 2nd position which is his best finish of the season.

Danilo Petrucci seemed to be in a lonely 4th but Jorge Lorenzo had cooked his tyres and the Pramac rider passed Lorenzo into turn 1. Vinales followed Petrucci through after passing Lorenzo into turn 12. It seemed that Petrucci would finish on the podium but with 2 laps to go, Vinales passed the Italian into turn 8 to take much needed back to back podiums.

Alvaro Bautista was rider of the day after finishing in a staggering 5th position. He also passed Lorenzo late on into turn 1 and finished top Ducati! The two factory Ducati’s finished in a disappointing 6th and 7th position despite their promising pace.

At the start of the race, Alex Rins and Pol Espargaro collided and fell down on the first lap with Jack Miller also getting involved ruining all of their races. The Aussie would eventually finish in 14th position with Rins and Espargaro retiring.

Cal Crutchlow was having a strong day in 5th position but with 20 laps to go, the Brit crashed into turn 12.

Elsewhere, Bradley Smith secured a brilliant 10th position in his KTM and Stefan Bradl had a very strong race in 16th position finishing ahead of his teammate Tom Luthi!

The Top 10:

  1. Marc Marquez- Repsol Honda
  2. Valentino Rossi- Movistar Yamaha
  3. Maverick Vinales- Movistar Yamaha
  4. Danilo Petrucci- Alma Pramac
  5. Alvaro Bautista- Angel Nieto Ducati
  6. Jorge Lorenzo- Ducati
  7. Andrea Dovizioso- Ducati
  8. Dani Pedrosa- Repsol Honda
  9. Johann Zarco- Tech 3 Yamaha
  10. Bradley Smith- KTM


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: